I am a iPhone GOD.

Okay, that may be a bit of a stretch.  I’m probably more like a demi-being of some sort.  I’ve been wanting to do some podcasting, sort of audio blogging I suppose, but the major downfall is how to get people to call in and carry on a conversation with them and record it.  Radio stations use some specialized recording equipment to do it.  I have one at work, but not in my home studio.

Besides, I don’t have a landline at my house.  At all.  So I figured I’d have to do it the low tech way…  put my cell phone on speaker and put a mic up close to it.  Not exactly the best way, but I’ve done it in the past and it works.

But I got to thinking, and I knew there must be a better way to do this.  There had to be.  I’ve got an iPhone, damnit, I should be able to record with style.  I just had to figure out a way.

I looked at the connector for the headphones that come with the iPhone.  Its a pretty standard four ring connector, and I knew that the cable for my camcorder was a four ring plug.  If I could figure out the pin out on the connector, I could make this work.

The standard pinout on a camcorder cable isn’t the same as the pinout on the iPhone.  For one thing, the iPhone doesn’t have video out!  It has microphone in.  A little research and here’s how it breaks down, and you can use any camcorder cable sold at most any big box store.

white: right audio
red: Mic in
yellow: left audio

So, using my handy dandy Roland VM3100pro mixer (and ancient artifact, but still does what I need it to do) I plugged the white and yellow into an input on the mixer, and the red into a bus out.  The mic I was planning on using for the podcast is sent to the bus out, and there you have it…  a perfectly working iPhone podcast recording.

Okay, so YOU don’t have a mixer, but you wanna record a conversation from you iPhone?  I can’t help ya much.  I mean, really…  you gotta have something to record on.  But assuming you do, you could use the same cables to plug into whatever… a tape deck or the mic input on your computer.  Either would work.  Then find you a simple mic that will connect to the red RCA jack on the camcorder cable.  You might need to visit Radio Shack and get some adapters.

But ultimately, my system works, and works well.  I can answer the phone and record a conversation with no trouble.  And incorporate said recording into my podcast.  And for figuring all that out for ZERO BUCKS…  and a cool new use of my iPhone… that’s worth a little smidge of godhood, right?

