My son, the genuis?

Every parent wants to be proud of their child. It is a natural thing, as much pride in the child as in the parental skill used to raise them. So report cards came out yesterday, and I’m feeling rather proud. And if you look at the numbers, my kid is a genius.

Two things came out with this report. Now my son is in kindergarten, so we aren’t talking GPA here. These reports are much more fundamental.

On the report card itself, the kid got straight “S” with one exception. He got an “N” in finishes work in a timely manner. Which makes him mine, the worlds best procrastinator.

With that said, top marks across the board is nice, but fairly common I imagine. It was the other report that has me wondering.

This report, called Dribbles, measures his skill at reading readiness. I’m not going to pretend to understand or remember the catagories this set of tests measures. What I know is the report gives my son’s level of accomplishment measured against a benchmark of where he needs to be at this point in the school year.

I also recognize that those benchmarks are the minimum level of compentance expected, not the maximum expected or even the norm. It is the low mark for the year. Barely passing, if you will.

Of the four graded areas, one is the “final” grade for the year. If the child passes the benchmark at mid-year, then they are no longer tested in that catagory. The benchmark was 25. My son got a 30. So not bad at all.

On the other catagories, his reading skill compared to the benchmark was much wider. On one, the benchmark was 11, and he got a 41. The end of year benchmark is only 35, so he’s already scoring higher than the final benchmark at mid-year.

He did the same on two other catagories, far surpassing the mid-year benchmark and exceeding the year end benchmark. On the most challlenging of. The tasks, he blew through the mid-year mark and just missed the year end mark by a couple of points.

So looking at these marks, I’m tempted to jump to the conclusion that my son is a genuis. But I have to remember a few things.

First, this test measures reading readiness, and he is reading. Not theological papers, but maybe he’ll start next week.

Second, his mother and I read like books are food. He grew up watching us devour books like a fat man eating pringles. He picked up our love of reading very early and has had access to books from the first day he was with us.

Third, his mom is a kindergarten teacher. And while she hasn’t been blaten about it, she has been “teaching the test” since day one. I’m not suggesting that she’s been cheating and training him just to pass these tests, but since she knows how the test works, she has taught him reading in the same manner as the tests, instead if fumbling through it like other parents.

With those three things in mind, I must temper my jump to genuis for him. His mom keeps saying she wants a middle of the road kid, but at least for now she’s gotten a top of the class one.

But all is not rosey. My kid is weird. I mean out there weird. Like loud noises send him into convulsions, sharp words bring on tears, and he is an overly sensitive soul. He is always working on a plan, which usually involves a way to get out of whatever he is supposed to be doing.

Wait a minute. My son is wicked smart, always scheming, and a little weird. He’s not a genuis, he’s an evil scientist trying to take over the world.

God help us.

