Twilight isn’t just for Vampires anymore.

Got a text during church from my usual canoe buddy about taking the boats out today. So I got permission and cleared it with everyone and went out, perhaps a little latter then I like.

Did the stretch from Ryland Pike down to Little Cove Road. Normally I do the stretch from 72 to Little Cove Road, but adding Ryland Pike to the trip only adds a little over a mile. That’s like 20-25 minutes. So we added the extra little bit. And that extra little bit was pretty much our downfall.

First, a little over the mile, AS THE CROW FLIES, is more like 2 miles on the water. So that’s 40-50 minutes. And then as we passed Highway 72 we stopped to talk with some other kayakers and canoers. A little kid there fell in the current and banged himself up, and since I NEVER go on the river without a first aid kit, so I had to help out. Then we left there, and we had the river all to ourselves… cause no one else was stupid enough to be on it that late.

So on the other end, the scariest portion of the river in my opinion, we ended up paddling in the dark. Now I’d gladly paddle a LAKE in the dark. I’d even paddle a nice slow wide river in the dark. I’d like to get a water proof headlamp and actually do that sometime, as some commentators have mentioned, it’s easier to find gators that way. This isn’t a scared of the dark complaint.

The last quarter mile of the river on our chosen route is a pretty quick moving section with lots of snarls. Nothing we haven’t done before, but I’ve had plenty of trouble here too. I’ve flipped a few times, nearly flipped more times than I care to count. Last time Jim and I did this section in the canoe, we got sideways against a log. The current was fast and strong and rolled over the side of the canoe. Jim is quick to point out we didn’t flip, but that didn’t keep us out of the water.

So we get to the danger zone, and the suns behind the mountain so it might as well be dark. It’s that stupid twilight time when you can’t see for crap. And yet we’re running down the river dodging logs and trying to keep from rolling over a log, rock or snarl. It wasn’t fun. Okay, it was fun. But it was pretty darn scary.

And thankfully uneventful. Couple of close calls. I got hung up a time or two, Jim ran the canoe into a sticky spot in a place I couldn’t help much. I’m still not sure how he did it. In some freak way he got the front of the canoe hooked around the branch of a tree in a weird way that I still can’t wrap my head around. And the current was so quick I couldn’t get back to help. Somehow he freed himself and we got the boats pulled out of the water.

So for the first time in a couple of weeks I got the boats wet. And it was good. If scary in the end. But hey… scary is good too.

One thought on “Twilight isn’t just for Vampires anymore.

  1. Pingback: Gator Hunting Winding Down « Running Wolf

Comments are closed.