You may have noticed…

 

Things have been Topsy Turvy

Things have been Topsy Turvy!

You may have noticed an increase in posting here.  At least, I hope you have.  I’m secretly (well, not so much anymore) participating in the National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo), which means I’m supposed to write a blog post every day this month.  I’m not making a big deal about it, but it has made me think a bit more about the blog and how I use it.

 

It’s kinda funny, when I wasn’t participating in NaBloPoMo, I’d think of lots of things to write about, but didn’t take the time to write them.  Now that I’m writing every day, I’m finding it harder to find things to write about.  Nature of the beast and all that.

So I’ll just sorta update a few things.  I’ve found it lately really hard to write on my theater blog, Beyond the Boards.  There are a couple of reasons for that.  First, I started the blog and the podcast just days before Mary died.  That has sort of upended my world.  Since her death there have been two award shows (and congrats to the winners) and several shows finishing their run here in town.  Notably was Philip Parker and Josh Olive as Doc and Monster in Frankenstein.  I didn’t get to see it, but heard fantastic things about it.  I also missed Alice in Wonderland, directed by the awesome Sam Marsh.  I’ve never gotten the chance to work with Sam, but think his work is consistently stunning.  His next play is Almost Maine, which has one of my favorite bloggers in it, Sarah Brown.  I’m making a point of NOT missing that one.

But despite the depression and general lack of inspiration, I really need to finish the latest episode of Beyond the Boards and get that blog and podcast into shape.

On another front, a good friend and I have discussed starting a new project that has me pretty excited.  I won’t revel too much, but I think you’ll need to be watching for three geeks and a blog in the news reader of your choice very soon.  It has me a little nervous, one of the “three” will obviously be me.  The other two are both english teachers, and one is also a philosophy and theology teacher. The idea of the blog is that one of us will find something worth writing about, and the other two will respond with a post about that topic.  Sort of a round table of opinions between three dorky guys.  I figure I’ll be routinely ganged up on, but that should make the blog more fun.

I’ve also accepted the position of sound designer for Theatre Huntsville‘s May show of To Gillian On Her 37th Birthday.  I’m looking forward to that creative outlet this spring.  And I’m working on a surprise for TH’s Inherit the Wind as well.  More on that next week.

I’m also getting back into the web design project business, hopefully as an attempt to find a little extra cash now that I’m STILL unemployed.  And I need to get the Moohaha website back up and running, or turn Weatherly Manor back into a real site.

So it’s been a month now since Mary died.  No more hiding behind that as an excuse to why I’m not accomplishing anything.  Instead, it’s time to go forward and move ahead.  Get things done.  I’ll let you know how long this new enthusiasm lasts.

2 thoughts on “You may have noticed…

    • Well, I’m looking forward to your new project. And I hope to get invited onto it at some point. Hint Hint Hint.

Comments are closed.