Why I don’t care about gay marriage

Today the Supreme Court of the United States heard arguments over Proposition 8, a California proposition that outlawed gay marriage. Gay rights advocates are hoping the court will find the prop unconstitutional, and depending on how they do it, ending the gay marriage debate in the courts.

I couldn’t care less.

Don’t get me wrong. I hope the court finds the entire concept unconstitutional and opens the door for federal and state recognition for gay marriage and the rights associated with that civil union. I couldn’t care less because its one of the most inane and stupid arguments I’ve ever heard.

Of course gay people should be allowed to marry. The idea that they can’t is so alien to my way of thinking I find it beneath contempt to assume they can’t. It’s just such a simple concept, I can’t honestly believe in 2013 we still have lawmakers and other leaders that are fighting it.

But the reality is, we do. And that’s just bullshit.

I believed in a time that was just around the corner 13 years ago, when we’d come out of the dark ages and into a period of enlightenment and understanding. I was geeky enough to believe the open access of the internet would end war, hate and violence. That clearly hasn’t happened, and in many cases the internet has increased all of these.

I’m sorely disappointed in the 21st century so far. Oh I love my iPhone and my iPad and my high speed internet. But we’ve had troops deployed in combat since 2001, my kids have never seen a time of peace, we still deny basic human rights in our own country, we’ve become enamored with technology to the point of forgetting the humanity.

So when I say I don’t care about gay marriage, it isn’t because I am apathetic or disagreeable with the notion. It’s because my faith in humanity is at such an all time low I don’t have the energy or focus to be bothered with it. It’s a throw away notion, of course they should have the right. The fact that it isn’t a throw away notion is the bigger problem. And that’s not a gay/straight issue. That’s a human issue.

Humanity needs a reboot. Can we get Christopher Nolen on that?

Oh, and one more thing while I’m being so disagreeable about the current state of human affairs… where is my flying car?

3 thoughts on “Why I don’t care about gay marriage

  1. It’s all about getting paid for sex. Proponents for “gay marriage” want the rents, goods, emoluments, benefits, affirmative action, and tax breaks that governments provide directly or force others to do so for them.

    I suggest we should care about this case because its core is about the rule of law. The voters of California passed prop 8 and the amendment to the constitution to prohibit gay marriage. If you want marriage to be defined by the people support prop 8. If you do not like implementing the will of the people, rail against prop 8.

    Recall the Newspeak of 1984 where Big Brother just redefined the definition of the words used for concepts he did not like.

    • I applaud your rational reduction of marriage to paid sex. It’s brilliant. We should consider marriage as paid sex. That would solve all the family problems in this country. It’s a bold, brilliant move. By changing the definition of marriage to paid sex, you remove all family and civil rights issues from the discussion. And would legalize prostitution across the nation. A bold social engineering move! Quite progressive.

      Not to mention a brilliant wealth redistribution scheme to place millions in alimony into the hands of sex trade workers across the country. Why the increased non taxable disposable income prostitutes would earn would jump start low income neighborhoods in our inner cities.

      It would completely remove the disadvantages of gay verses straight marriage from the equation as well. Since all it is is paid sex, anyone could marry anything. Beastiality would be legal, and people could marry (pay for sex) any living or even inanimate objects! You would remove the stigma of vibrators and dildos and elevate them to spouses! I’ve never heard of a more sweeping plan to change American moral values.

      I lift my glass in toast to your brilliance.

    • Okay, perhaps I pushed that last reply too fair, but I find reducing a committed relationship to how the two people in that relationship copulate deridingly disgusting.

      As to the core of the rest of your argument, I agree it’s about the rule of law. Specifically the due process and equality of the law. Does one group of people have the right to tell another group of people that the law applies differently to you than to everyone else. The will of the people is not the law, and our founder put in place checks and balances to separate the will of the people from making law.

      As for redefining marriage, it’s been done time and again throughout American history. I don’t think this time is significantly different than all the rest. Evoking newspeak seems, at best, a bit alarmist if not outright ignoring the last 200 or so years of history.

Comments are closed.