I Never Saw The Motorcycle

As the weather warms up and the rains recede for summer, I’m afraid you’ll be seeing more and more stories like this one.

Motorcycle killed on Thursday Identified

Frankly, I’m fed up with them. They all seem to have one thing in common, the phrase uttered by the horrified driver “I never saw the motorcycle.” I’m sick to death of reading about my brother and sister riders killed because people didn’t see them.

It’s a load of crap. The reason people don’t see us is because you people stuck in your four-wheeled cages don’t look. We are on gleaming chrome plated steal horses that sound like a dragon in full battle roar. We are damn hard to miss. Yet you caged up fools are to busy with your precious commute to look for us.

Don’t think riders aren’t looking. We are, and we have an unobstructed 360 degree view. We see you sitting behind your rolled up windows, doing all the things you’re not supposed to be doing. You don’t see us because your too busy adjusting your radio instead of watching the road you’re pulling onto. Yes I mean you, blonde headed soccer mom in the red mini van pulling out of D1 sports last Wednesday directly in front of my bike.

You’re not looking for us because you’re too busy texting, yes Mr construction dude who drifted into my lane and looked surprised when I kicked your door, I’m talking about you.

Or you got your precious cell phone attached to your ear, yakking away instead of watching the road. And this time I’m talking to the driver of a local news truck. Your news story is not more important than my life. Funny, you were on your way to cover a six car pileup and a hit and run on four other cars including a motorcycle, but you still pulled out in front of me on Bailey Cove.

So seriously folks. Why don’t you concentrate on what you’re supposed to be doing. Which is driving a 2200+lb steel cage down the roads at high speeds safely, instead of being someplace else in your mind. Me and my brothers and sisters need you to step up to the plate.

