Writer Excommunicated For Writing

I’d actually forgotten about this post from 2009. I’m reblogging it today to show that I’ve been concerned about writers and writer rights since before I ever heard of Schmalfeldt. And the book is really good, if you like vampire fiction.

Running Wolf

I wish that the title of this post wasn’t true.  I know that like maybe three people read my blog, but I need to write this for other reasons.  It’s just so horrible I can’t believe it actually happened.

One of my new favorite writer and blogger , JF Lewis, got excommunicated from his church for writing an urban fantasy novel with a vampire protagonist.  You can find the story here, but below is a quick synopsis.

Lewis adds that the elders of his church believe that “by writing the book, I committed the sins contained within it. They also felt that I’d aimed the novel at young children (which boggles the mind) and that it teaches and encourages the use of vulgar language. Though I disagree wholeheartedly with their decision, I can’t really say they took the action they took in order to be mean… they appear…

View original post 322 more words

3 thoughts on “Writer Excommunicated For Writing

  1. I do not find this disturbing in the least. I can see why it might be disturbing to believing Christians with their doctrine of “hate the sin, love the sinner.” and I personally would not want to associate with people who behave the way that those in this church did. That is exercising my freedom of association. But this church merely exercised its freedom of association.

    What I do find disturbing is the idea that freedom of speech trumps freedom of association. If some group of people want to reject a person from a purely voluntary association because of that person’s legal speech, the group’s right to do so is as sacrosanct as the speaker’s right to speak in the first place.

    There is a general and psychologically understandable tendency for us to regard the rights of of those with whom we sympathize as somehow superior to the rights of those with whom we do not sympathize. But it is a dangerous tendency because it creates an environment where everyone’s rights are gradually eroded.

    • You’re absolutely right. Freedom of association is every bit as important as freedom of speech. That’s not the point.

      The point here isn’t that he wasn’t to be disassociated. The point is that the tenets the church claims to believe in doesn’t support the disassociation. And that his own actions better employ the tenants the church claims to profess.

      • I get that point. In fact, I mentioned it in my original post. I just can’t get concerned about it: hypocrisy in Christian churches is too prevalent. Now if I were a member of that particular church, I’d be concerned. But I’m not.

Comments are closed.