Want to know what’s really odd?

So This Blog’s Best Buddy Bill Schmalfeldt posted an odd twit yesterday.  Take a look.

Screenshot 2014-06-25 14.58.56

Taken at face value, Schmalfeldt is right.  It is an odd response.

So I reached out to Paul Lemmen, who readily admits that he is a convicted felon currently living under the intense scrutiny of probation.  I asked him if he’d ever, prior to this communication, asked Schmalfeldt to not contact him.  He emphatically informed me that he does it at least once a month.  Lemmen told me he routinely blocks Schmalfeldt on Twitter, but since he changes his twitter account so often, blocking doesn’t always work.  (Next time you hear Schmalfeldt claim Hoge should have blocked him over the peace order issue, remember that.)

I asked Lemmen if he had any screen caps of the insulting and harassing communication that Schmalfeldt sent him, and unfortunately he didn’t.  I asked if he had any recollection of the harassing names he was called, and I appreciate his response…

His names mean nothing to me as they relate to my criminal past, that I have admitted, been in prison for and have repented.

Paul Lemmen in a Direct Message to me on Twitter

Now I can’t prove that Schmalfeldt harassed Lemmen online, since I don’t have any screen caps.  And Lemmen is a convicted felon.  So why am I picking to trust the felon over the adjudicated harasser?  Because it fits the trend and the truth of Schmalfeldt.  As a commenter over at Hogewash put it…

The way he attacked Stranahan and his family, and told anybody who asked how horrible he was, only to become his “buddy” when circumstances changed and he could get a sliver of info, then change back to his worst nightmare, was one of the creepiest things I’ve ever seen.

Perry Mason in a comment at Hogewash.

And that’s something I’ve witnessed with Schmalfeldt on my own.  When he thinks you’ve no value to him, he will make the most vile and disgusting comments about you.  The minute you seem to have something he needs, you are his best friend, up to or until you give him what he needs or you refuse outright to cooperate.  Then, it is back to vile and disgusting.

So really, it isn’t all that odd of a response.  If Schmalfeldt had a little more human dignity, perhaps it would be odd.  But that’s not the case.

10 thoughts on “Want to know what’s really odd?

  1. I’ve had a few supervisors like that back before my library days. The one would harass me (and many others in the department) non-stop (which HR didn’t care about because it wasn’t sexual harassment), and then when she needed help with her computer all of a sudden I was the most wonderful person in the world.

    Once the computer issue was solved, within a few hours I was once again a total incompetent who couldn’t prioritize correctly nor even do the stuff I did do properly. However, when I was transferred out of that department for 6 weeks to cross train, every time I ran into someone from the old department they were desperately asking when I’d be back because everything was falling apart. (Never, ever piss off your secretary/admin assistant! When we’re good, you don’t notice, when we’re bad, whether intentional or not……)

    I imagine working with Bill back when he was at the NIH must have been something like that. I’d be surprised if there are many who miss him.

    • I’d be surprised if there are many who miss him.
      I’d be surprised if there are any who miss him.
      FTFY!

      • I work as a government contractor. Most of our federal management is not capable of managing the wiping of their own sphyncters. Bill fits in perfectly with this level of incompetence.

  2. Bill keeps saying he “apologized” to Stranahan. Well that’s true, until it wasn’t convenient (about 4-5 hours). Then he was back to calling Lee all the bad names he’d called him before. All the while still insisting they were on good terms. Lee has had little to say except for invoking Romans 12:20.

    Among the many things Bill doesn’t understand, the term “apology” is one of them.

  3. “When I use a word,” Humpty Dumpty said, in rather a scornful tone, “it means just what I choose it to mean—neither more nor less.” — Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking Glass (1872 – out of copyright in 1948)

Comments are closed.