A GHOST of a chance!

Well, comments exploded with my revelation of Ghost.  I thank everyone for the input and apologize for any confusion from me answering while at work.  That damn smart phone seems to grow smaller ever day.  They really want my thumbs on those keys?

That said, I took yawls advice and I did a bit of research.  I started here:

You can get some pretty good info about Neal at TheOtherMcCain.com. Here is the link to a Neal search of the site:
http://theothermccain.com/?s=Neal

– monitor2112 in an approved comment on this site

So I followed that link, and was a little surprised by what I found.  It seems this “Neal” character really is a Ghost.  I had no idea when I tried to, on the spot, give my deep source a cool name that, if it turns out to be Neal, then it really is an appropriate name form him as a source.  From what I gather, Neal doesn’t stay in one place long enough to get served a summons in his child custody case, he doesn’t have a driver’s license and he doesn’t have a car.  He does what he can to stay invisible.  He is trying to be a ghost.

I didn’t just read what McCain has about Neal, but searched out other sources.  Some of you are going to scold me for this, but I think that it is possible that Matt Osborn at Osborn Ink may have described Neal the best.  Looking at posts about Neal at McCain, Stranahan, Hoge, and elsewhere I think Matt hit it on the head when he said that Neal is the “SuperVillian” of the anti-Kimberlin crowd.  (Okay, Matt said of the Right wing blogosphere, but I don’t subscribe to the right/left thing as we discussed yesterday.)  Here’s what Matt had to say…

They made Neal Rauhauser into a left-wing supervillain because they wanted and needed one so badly. And for a moment, right wing bloggers seemed to finally be picking on someone their own size, because no one could find Rauhauser to engage him in “lawfare.” So they wrote with what little information they had, embellished and inflated it, and called the whole fiasco their finest hour.

– Matt Osborne on his blog, Osborne Ink.

Now that doesn’t mean I believe all Matt has to say about Neal.  In fact, I’m working on a post about Matt, since he’s a fellow Alabama blogger I thought I’d introduce myself.  Hold off on your judgement till you see that, I ask.  And I’ve not forgotten the anonymous poster who suggested that Ghost may actually BE Matt.

At any rate, whoever Ghost is, it is clear that Ghost is more than familiar with the very early days of Neal’s activities, and thinks all this ties in with the timeline of Neal’s online antics.  Some key words from his lengthy scribe.  Brietbart.  Weinergate.  Bean dogs.  Gulgaggers.

So, I don’t know if Ghost is Neal, or is Matt, or is some as yet unknown watcher in the wings.  I don’t care right now.  I’m not going to use anything he sends me without it being clearly vetted through other sources.  That’s how you do things with anonymous sources, you don’t just run with it you have to back it up.  Because one of your goals is to protect that source.  The other is that you need to verify your facts anyway.

So here’s the deal I offer Ghost, if he wants to go forward.  I will listen to whatever you have to say.  If I find any of the information interesting, and I can vet it through other sources, I will use it.  If I can’t vet it, but I still find it interesting and want to use it, I will post it here as clearly coming from Ghost and asking my readers for more information.  I have no desire to know your location or identity.  That’s the best I can do, and the information will be one way.  I won’t be sharing information, mainly because I don’t have any.  Also, because any information I have is protected by the same deal I’m offering you.  (Yes my friends, Ghost isn’t the first behind the scenes anonymous source I have, just the most mysterious.)

4 thoughts on “A GHOST of a chance!

  1. Good for you Michael. Nice to see someone taking the time to do the legwork necessary to actually understand all the moving parts of this weird mess.

  2. Please realize that Neal is seen as a super-villain on the left side as well. He helped someone set up a very wide ranging smear and harassment campaign. The victims were targeted as retaliation for preferring one progressive-leaning organization instead of another one that was apparently thought to compete with it. *(This gives interesting insight into the mind of whoever from the latter group hired with or worked with Neal. In my observation, different groups on the same side are more likely to have synergy with each other and do not usually compete. Especially when they do not differ on substantial policy issues.)* Anyway Matt was neck deep in this campaign, and many are still sore over the unjust treatment they received.

    I hope it could go without saying, but our evaluation of the methods used should have nothing to do with our opinions on the merits or political leanings of the organization targeted. Lying harassment, doxing, and other such venom is not justified by such little disagreements.

    • I hope it could go without saying, but our evaluation of the methods used should have nothing to do with our opinions on the merits or political leanings of the organization targeted. Lying harassment, doxing, and other such venom is not justified by such little disagreements.

      Couldn’t agree more. It’s well known that doxing is my big thing. But the rest are fair as well.

  3. I have friends on the left, friends on the right and friends who are apolitical. All of them despise Neal and his “associates”.

    Draw from that what you will.

Comments are closed.