Weather Rolling Through

Field Day here in North Alabama has been cut short.  Serious thunderstorms have moved through the area, forcing the dismantling of all the portable stations.  Never did get to try and work W3JJH, but there may be future times when we can see if we can contact each other.  Scarier is that a lightning strike well before the storm hit was dangerously close to our stations.  Once everyone’s eyes cleared and ears could hear, there was a mad scramble to get the gear down.  It was a leading edge strike a good 20 minutes before we thought we’d be tearing down.  Much later, my ears are still ringing.

Side Note: Is anyone else a Ham?  Perhaps we should see about about trying to meet on the airwaves sometime.

After getting down the mountain, I’m now safe in the house listening to the thunder and watching the windows flash.  I’ve always enjoyed a good thunderstorm, the sound is awesome and the smell after a good thunderstorm is so clean.  But after that lightning strike, I’m not afraid to admit I’m still a bit skittish.  Lightning is a scary force of nature, in it’s own way every bit as powerful as a tornado or any other natural disaster.

Unless you’re close to a strike, it is easy to ignore.  According to the National Weather Services, there have been over 110,000 lightning strikes in the US in the past 2 hours (as of this writing) with no reported injuries.  In 2012, Alabama had two deaths from Lightning strikes, one here in my hometown.  Considering the millions of times Lightning strikes the state in a year, that doesn’t sound so bad.  Unless you are the one hit, of course.

So while I can console myself with the stats, it doesn’t help that I still have spots in my eyes and my ears are still ringing.

4 thoughts on “Weather Rolling Through

  1. I’m very glad to hear that everyone stayed safe today.

    One year when I was little we lived in upstate NY across the road from a farm with wide open fields. I can remember standing inside the screen door watching the lightning strikes during quite a few storms I also remember losing my footing in the kitchen one day and knocking the breath out of myself from hitting the edge of the table when the house shook after the lightning rod was hit (or else the strike was just really, really close).

    Many years later I was woken out off a deep sleep by a storm when I lived in the midwest. The first strike must have been within just a few tens of yards of our house, and I woke up several feet off the bed. For some years afterwards, I’d flinch every time I heard thunder. Now I live in the north east, and we just don’t get thunderstorms like that here. I do miss the way the air feels just after (and before) a storm.

Comments are closed.