Little Women…

This is another of my posts about my involvement in theatre.  In this installment I talk about Little Woman, a little musical by Jay Richards.  If I remember correctly, we were honored to do the southeastern premier of this beautiful play.  Once again, I served as tech director on the play, which meant I was literally building back to back to back sets.  

Little Women was a fantastic play to work on, as I got to work with some amazing young talent and some of Huntsville Old Guard in theatre.  I was pleased with the public reception and the amazing set I designed, but had so much help building.  But one of the things about the play I am most proud of was the trailer.

We talked a local park and museum to let us shoot the trailer on their grounds, so we had a plethora of building from the time of Little Women to shoot in and around.  The end result, if I do say so myself, was beautiful.

One funny story, toward the end of the trailer there is a scene where the entire cast is leaning on a fence.  We originally shot that scene facing the other direction, so the sun was lighting the actors faces.  It was a beautiful scene, and I was overly pleased with myself for setting it up.  Oh how pride doth fall.  It was the last scene we shot, and just before I released the actors, we reviewed the scenes.  I loved the fence scene, and everyone else did too, but since we were on top of the mountain, someone suggested we shoot the scene from the opposite angle and have the expansive view behind the actors.  I was skeptical, but since the actors wanted to do it, we set up the shot and quickly got the footage and left.

I finished editing the trailer that night, and sent it by email to the cast and crew and board of directors.  Word quickly came back that everyone loved it, and thought it was our best work to date.  I got the go ahead to post the trailer to YouTube and just before I did, I showed it to my kids.  Now keep in mind that the cast reviewed the footage before we left, I sent the footage to a dozen or two people and everyone approved the cut.  But the first thing out of my son’s mouth when it got to the fence scene (I had used my original shot) was why there was a bulldozer in the background.

WHAT!

There was some groundwork being done while we were shooting, and we had been shooting around the construction equipment all afternoon.  No one else saw the bulldozer in that shot.  I’m glad the cast convinced me to shoot the opposite angle, and I quickly swapped out the shot, emailed everyone about the faux pas and asked that they delete the trailer before sending it on.  Crisis adverted.

Here, now, is the trailer for Little Women.

